Board index   FAQ   Search  
Register  Login
Board index VRRA Racing Forum Technically Speaking:

cb350 engine build

Bike preparation, class eligibility, technical questions.

Moderator: Michael Vinten

cb350 engine build

Postby Jim o » Wed Jan 15, 2020 10:44 am

I am new to VRRA and am preparing a cb350 what pistons should I use will the ones sold by sirius.ca hold up? I see I should use the KN slipper cam chain tensioner.what chain should I purchase? What valves guides and springs should I use?I cant seem to find suitable race tires can I use the stock rims?I live in Mississauga is anyone living here who can give me some advice and maybe let me check out their equipment.I am signed up for the Shannonville school anybody have some race tires to sell with enough life left for the school and first race. Thanks Jim
Jim o

Re: cb350 engine build

Postby TimV » Wed Jan 15, 2020 4:20 pm

Welcome Jim,

my answers below are assuming you're building a P1 CB350(basically stock engine with drum front brake). Read the latest VRRA rule book as there are restriction on what you can and can't modify on these engines!

Pistons: Those Sirius pistons should be fine, although I had an issue with one(possibly an assembly error...) We're allowed to run the Wiseco pistons up to 65.5mm. Old stock Honda pistons work just fine too.

The KA tensioner is a good idea.

Cam chain: I was advised to use the Tsubaki Cam Chain with that tensioner, although it seems they are no longer available. THR was selling the KA tensioner and a DID gold cam chain.

Valve guides: need to use stock steel units.

Valve springs: better aftermarket springs can be used - RD, Kibblewhite, etc

Tires: I run Heidenau K44 90/90-18 on a 2.15" front wheel, K65 110/80-18 on a 2.5" rear wheel. Avon makes tires too, and there's a chance we'll be able to use Radials this year if the rule passes.

I'm way up North, but hopefully you can hook up with someone locally to help.

Hopefully I'll see you at the first round!

Tim